SNOOP DOG: "UGLY WOMEN DON’T SELL RECORDS"….

Here’s a couple of shocking quotes taken from Snoop’s warped up consciousness of female singers in the industry via BET.com’s Hip Hop Vs. America blog. Snoop has it in his head that ONLY pretty women sell records:



Well, okay, if that were true, why is Amerie, Cassie, Christina Milian and Nicole Scherzinger struggling to go past triple cardboard? Pretty mute. Then he brings up the touchy subject of dark skinned vs light skinned yet again. Check out the ignorance: “How many ugly women selling records? None! Only the pretty ones sell records. Beyonce, Mary J, Keyshia Cole, the ugly ones don’t sell. I ain’t gon say no names, but they don’t sell records. They just be singing their little hearts out, but they don’t get no sales, cause they ugly. Now, that’s my fault? I can see this on TV now: ‘Snoop Dogg called me, ugly’. You beautiful on the inside, baby. What I wanna say to go on top of that, to the chocolate women, the dark-skinned women, I love ya’ll. I got a chocolate daughter at home. I always tell her chocolate is the best thing in the world”.

It is indeed, until she tries to become a huge aspiring singer, LOL. I hope he knows he was targeting his own daughter with his comments. He really didn’t put much thought into what he was saying. Daddy I want to become a huuuge singer like Beyonce. Um no, you don’t have the required physical attributes. TRAGIC. He just comes across as ignorant and dumb like many of the other rappers out today. And since when has Keyshia Cole and Mary J Blige been considered pretty? They’re not ugly but unlike Beyonce, they’re not placed on high regard for their “looks” either. In a way, I get what he’s saying to an extent – that prettier singers stand a better chance at success in the industry (the pretty singers who fail musically have their original jobs to fall back on – Christina Milian who was an actress before she became a singer has her acting career, Cassie who was a model before she became a singer has her modelling career, etc). I just feel he could have worded his comments much better without causing offense and therefore further igniting the inferiority/superiority complex between the light/dark skinned folks within the black community.

ps. Snoop is the LAST person on earth to be talking about somebody’s looks.

Leave a comment